Over the past 100 years, governments worldwide have signed many agreements that restrict war as a means for conflict resolution. Some of these are:


  1. Bullet The Geneva Gas Protocol, 1925

  2. Bullet The United Nations Charter, 1945

  3. Bullet The Nuremberg Principles, 1945

  4. Bullet The Genocide Convention, 1948

  5. Bullet The Geneva Conventions, 1949 and subsequent protocols

  6. Bullet The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, 1968

  7. Bullet The Convention on Environmental Modification, 1977

  8. Bullet The Convention on Certain Inhumane Weapons

  9. Bullet The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty

  10. Bullet The Chemical Weapons Convention

These agreements prohibit:


  1. Bullet Weapons or tactics that cause unnecessary or aggravated devastation or suffering.

  2. Bullet Weapons or tactics that cause indiscriminate harm as between combatants or noncombatants, and military and civilian personnel.

  3. Bullet Weapons or tactics in warfare that violate the neutral jurisdiction of non-participating states.

  4. Bullet Asphyxiating, poisonous or other gas, and all analogous liquids, materials and devices, including bacteriological methods of warfare.

  5. Bullet Weapons or tactics that cause widespread long-term and severe damage to the natural environment.

  6. Bullet Reprisals that are disproportionate to the antecedent provocation, or disrespectful of persons, institutions, or resources protected by the laws of war.